My interview yesterday went on for 2 hours and I got a very good feeling about it. I have to tell myself that it was actually "mission successful" as I was able to win over the recruiters enough that I'm sure they recommended me to the client and I may get a second interview. But that involves waiting for a call. That's all I seem to be doing at the moment; waiting for a call. And waiting.
See, I've put my CV out to so many places, my phone goes off at the oddest times and recruiters I don't remember apply to start talking about roles they have. Then maybe I don't hear from them again. Maybe I'm just still waiting. I can't walk away from my phone for two seconds. Or go on the Underground as phones don't work there.
I feel confident that I can actually ace an interview, but I just need to get the interview in the first place. The market is so competitive right now I wonder now how many interviews I will have to go to before I finally get a job. So, I'm a bit stressed at the moment.
Adding to that stress a little is the fact that we're going to Germany in a couple of days and there is a lot to organise. For example, getting to Gatwick airport before 6am. That involves getting a train at 4am, which involves somehow getting to the train station before then. Once we actually get to Cologne, it'll finally be time for me to relax for a few days.
Last weekend was pretty crazy, I have to admit. The whole flat got dressed up as Where's Wally and left first thing in the morning to go and drink at the most seedy scum hole of a flat I've seen. The whole place was made worse by the rancid stink of the butcher underneath and the cockroaches skittering over the floor. This was all in preparation for going to The Church, which is the absolutely inappropriate name given to an old theatre in Clapham where kiwis and aussies congregate with locals to get pissed.
As the pictures I posted up on facebook earlier will no doubt testify, it was a wicked den of debauch and disgusting behaviour; but wild fun all the same. There were several drinking games taking place up on stage as well as a stripper - all of this happening from 11am on a Sunday.
It was all over as the skies were darkening at 3pm and when we got back home it was scarcely 7pm and everyone was passing out drunk. Considering how drunk I was, there was no hangover, owing completely to the fact that it was all over so quickly and I managed to get a fairly decent night's sleep.
So here's hoping this weekend in Germany gives me more interesting experiences to write about.
No comments:
Post a Comment